Underaged Drinking and Driving in Milwaukee, Wisconsin 

It is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 years old to operate a motor vehicle in Milwaukee with a trace of alcohol in their bloodstream. According to Wisconsin criminal law, this is considered driving under the influence of alcohol or DUI because of its Zero Tolerance Laws. This means that anyone under the age of 21 years old accused of having any alcohol in their bloodstream while driving will need the assistance of a dui attorney milwaukee wi

What is the Legal Drinking Age in Milwaukee? 

The legal drinking age is 21 years old or older. Anyone over 21 years old can be accused of DUI if their blood alcohol level (BAC) is more than 0.08 percent or higher. An underaged driver can have 0.0 percent alcohol in their bloodstream. 

What is the Fine for Underage Drinking and Driving in Milwaukee? 

If an underage driver is convicted of DUI in Milwaukee, they can face some serious penalties. For instance, their driving license is suspended for three months. Approximately four points are added to the person’s driving record. They also may pay a fine of $200. The fine will double if another minor younger than 16 years old was in the vehicle at the time of the DUI stop or crash. Their license will also be suspended longer if there was a minor in the vehicle. 
If an underage driver has a BAC higher than 0.15 percent, the court may order the installation of an ignition interlock device. This device, which requires a driver to blow into a tube connected to the wheel, will not a person drive unless they have no alcohol in their system. 

What is Implied Consent Laws? 

Implied consent means every driver operating a motor vehicle in Wisconsin must provide a DUI chemical test when a request by a police officer. The consent is given every time a driver, regardless of age, operates a motor vehicle. They can refuse to undergo chemical testing. However, they will face severe penalties if they refuse chemical testing. 

What are the Penalties for Refusing a DUI Chemical Test? 

Any driver who refuses to consent to chemical testing can lose their license for a certain period such as one year. This means that their license can be revoked in addition to any criminal DUI penalties. 

Underaged Drivers have the Right to Legal Counsel to Fight a DUI Charge 

In Wisconsin, an underaged individual accused of drinking and driving has the right to hire a DUI attorney. It is important to tell the attorney everything that happened before, during and after the traffic stop or accident. It doesn’t matter if the individual believes it will incriminate them. Their attorney must have all the information to assist their client in fighting the DUI charge. The charge can result in a not guilty verdict or guilty verdict in court. It may not reach court because the person’s attorney can negotiate a plea deal or get the charge dropped.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *